Nordic Ware Shortcake Baskets Tin

Anyone who knows me knows I am addicted to Nordic Ware and their wonderful range of bundt and cake tins. Anyone can create a stunning bake using these tins. The details are simply stunning and need minimal decoration to make them even more spectacular.

One of my most recent Nordic Ware purchases has been the Shortcake Baskets tin. It lets you create 6 beautifully detailed baskets which you can then fill or top with whatever you fancy. It has fast become my favourite tin. I’ve used it twice so far. My first time was to make these.Β 2015-04-13 20.47.31

Very easy, just follow the recipe which is on the card wrap on the tin, then add whipped cream, strawberries, and strawberry sauce. Delicious! That quick and easy dessert could use any type of fruit you like. Whipped cream or just poured straight from the carton.

My next basket creation was based on good old trifles from childhood. I used to love jelly with sponge in it, thick custard on top, and finally cream (or as we used to have, Dream Topping) with sprinkles on to crown it. I thought I’d make a slightly more sophisticated version with the baskets serving as the sponge part. I made my own custard using a BBC GoodFood recipe I found online, then whipped up some cream, piped it on top and sprinkled some Dr Oetker Eton Mess sprinkles all over.

I made the baskets using the card recipe again as it is so delicious. The tins are American so the recipes use cup measurements. I’m not sure if my conversions to grams were correct but they came out perfectly so I don’t mind. Here is the recipe:

140g plain flour

155g caster sugar

1.5 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

80g butter, softened

1/4 pint milk

1 egg

Preheat oven to 180C/160C fan. Prepare the tin using whichever method you prefer. I prefer Wilton Cake Release applied with a pastry brush to make sure every nook and cranny is greased. Put all of the ingredients in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer. Divide the mixture equally between the tins, filling no more than 3/4 full or else it spills over. (Learnt that the first time!) Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes in the tin, then tip out on to a cooling rack. How easy was that?!

When they were cool, I made up some Greens Red Quick Jel using the instructions on the packet. I sliced up some strawberries, put them in the baskets and poured the Jel over them until full to the top.2015-04-18 19.01.59

When that was set, I just dolloped some very thick custard on top (www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2554644/homemade-custard), piped the whipped cream on top of that and added the sprinkles and a dusting of icing sugar, et voila!2015-04-18 21.08.32

I am looking forward to using this tin for many many more bakes! I would love to see your bakes using it too! I hope you have enjoyed this post and recipe. Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Nordic Ware Shortcake Baskets Tin

  1. Great post, I have kept the recipes from my Nordic pan but not used it yet – am feeling inspired to now!

    When you use the cake release do you spray it and then use the brush over it to spread it? Haven’t heard of doing that before, but it’s a great idea.

    Looking forward to the next post! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Liz. Thats really kind πŸ™‚
      I’ve seen the spray version of cake release but the one I use is just in a bottle. I squeeze a couple of drops out then brush them all round the cavity. I find bristle brushes are best at getting into all the little gaps.
      Thanks for your support. It means a lot to me ❀ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

