World Baking Day Bakes Part 2… Coconut and Chocolate Bundt

2015-05-17 17.24.07

As well as making the rose madeleines for World Baking Day, I wanted to bake my favourite type of cake… a bundt. I was trying to decide which flavour bundt to make, and while I was pondering I got a bit peckish so nibbled on a Bounty chocolate bar. And then it hit me. No, not the Bounty! The idea to make a bundt using those delicious flavours, coconut covered in chocolate. My love of Nordic Ware tins means that my collection is ever-expanding, so the next tricky decision was which tin to use. Of all the tins I own, the Bavaria tin is probably the least decorative one and as a result I hadn’t baked with it before. I had wrongly considered it to be a bit boring. I thought I’d try it out for this recipe though, and I’m so glad I did. The pattern is simply beautiful and is perfect for recipes which have a sauce-style topping, as it follows the lines perfectly on its path down the sides.

I’ve been asked before about what type of recipe you should use in a bundt tin. A lot of people will say you need a denser firmer recipe to make sure it holds its shape. Personally, I find no difference in how well they keep their form. I have used Victoria sponge recipes and the resulting bundts have been light as air, just in a beautiful shape. I think as long as you spend time preparing the tin well for baking, and allow the baked bundt 10 minutes to cool in the tin at the end, you shouldn’t have a problem with any recipe. At least that’s my own experience anyway. My chosen method of preparing the tin is to apply Wilton Cake Release and use a pastry brush to spread it into every last nook and cranny, including the centre piece. I have never had a bundt stick in the tin using this method. So here’s my very easy recipe. I hope you like it.

250g unsalted butter, room temperature

250g caster sugar

4 large eggs, beaten, and at room temperature

250g self-raising flour, sifted

4 tbsp creamed coconut, melted

For the chocolate topping (optional)

150g milk chocolate

2 tbsp creamed coconut, melted

desiccated coconut, to decorate

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan. Grease the bundt tin well.
  • In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until pale and very fluffy. This takes me about 10 minutes.
  • Very gradually add the eggs, beating the mixture well after each addition. If your mixture starts to curdle, add a spoonful of the flour.
  • Add the sifted flour to the batter and fold in gently with a large metal spoon or a spatula. Try to keep as much air in the mixture as possible, so fold in gently until the mixture is smooth and lump-free. Add the coconut and gently fold that in too.
  • Pour the mixture into your prepared tin and bake in the centre of the oven for 25-30 minutes, until golden and the top springs back up when pressed. To check the middle is cooked, insert a skewer and remove again. if it comes out clean, the cake is cooked.
  • Leave in the tin for 10 minutes to cool, and then turn out onto a wire cooling rack to cool completely.
  • To make the chocolate topping, break up the chocolate and place into a small heatproof bowl, with the creamed coconut. Place over a pan of barely simmering water, making sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water. When the chocolate has melted, mix well to combine the melted coconut. If it is a little bit too thick, add a drop of milk and mix well.
  • Spoon the chocolate mixture over the top of the bundt, letting it run down the sides and into the middle. Sprinkle desiccated coconut on the top to decorate. Leave to set, then enjoy!

If you don’t want a chocolate topping, this is also lovely sprinkled with sifted icing sugar. That highlights the pattern even more. The coconut in the cake makes it so moist and tasty. I will definitely be making this again and again!

2015-05-17 16.58.25

imgres

2 thoughts on “World Baking Day Bakes Part 2… Coconut and Chocolate Bundt

    • Thank you. A lot of people seem nervous about making bundts so I wanted to show how any cake recipe can work just fine, and you can’t get easier than this one! 😊 The bundts you make look amazing!! Ah, bundt love 💞

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

