Degustabox – A Box of Foodie Delights – August 2015 Box review

2015-08-26 12.52.43

I was recently lucky enough to be approached by the lovely people at Degustabox and asked if I would like to receive their product so that I could tell you all about it. I replied that I would love to and I’m so glad I did! I had never heard of them before this, and I’ve been missing out on a wonderful treat!

For those of you who, like me until now, have not had the pleasure of discovering it, Degustabox is a monthly subscription surprise box of food and drink products. You don’t know what you are getting beforehand, so it is ridiculously exciting to open the box and see what goodies you have. Most of the products are new or limited edition from well known brands so you get a lot of things you might not normally buy in the shops. It costs £12.99 per month and that includes delivery, which I was happy to see comes with DPD as I find them the most reliable courier company! The products you receive retail at around double the price of the subscription so it is fantastic value for money.

On the day of delivery I had a text from DPD with a 2 hour time slot for my parcel to arrive, which meant I could get on with my day and not have to wait in for hours on end. I don’t know who was more excited when it arrived, me or my son Luke! I think it was equal. Luke asked if we could take it in turns reaching our hand in to the box and taking out an item, so that’s what we did. It seemed to go on forever! We were very excited to receive 20 products, most of which were new to us.

Here are the yummy treats we had in this box:

2015-08-26 11.54.29

  • FRU SNAX – I have never seen these before but I will definitely be keeping an eye out for them from now on. They are freeze dried pieces of fruit and yoghurt. We had peach slices with vanilla yoghurt melts, and at only 47 calories for the whole packet they are a perfect snack for everyone. They taste absolutely divine! Definitely one to look for again! 10/10
  • BRIOCHE PASQUIER Baked Bread Bites – Another new product for us. These are baked cubes of bread with a delicious bacon flavour. These only contained 84 calories so another good snack for everyone. These were Luke’s favourites. He ate them straight out of the packet. I sprinkled some over a green leafy salad and they were so moreish! They would also be great used as croutons in a soup. Very yummy and very versatile. 10/10
  • THE PRIMAL PANTRY – These were my DB’s Discoveries items. (This is a new initiative Degustabox have recently started where they introduce new and exciting products to the subscriber). There were 2 bars to try… Hazelnut and Cocoa, and Apple and Pecan. Primal Pantry bars are raw, coldpressed and handmade here in the UK, free from any junk ingredients, and are naturally gluten and dairy free. They are ideal for anyone following a Paleo diet. These were both really tasty and I felt like I was eating something healthy so had no guilt. Bonus! They were also very filling. The RRP for these is £1.49 each. 9/10

2015-08-26 11.53.24

  • WALKERS – Luke’s face lit up when he saw these packets of shortbread and biscuits. He loves shortbread so this was heaven for him! He immediately tore into the Pure Butter Shortbread and would have carried on with the others if I had let him! We also had Chocolate Chip Shortbread, Oat and Honey biscuits, and Fruit and Lemon biscuits. The Oat and Honey were my favourites, but all were delicious. I don’t know why but shortbread always makes me think of cosy days snuggled around a fire so seeing these gave me a lovely warm glow. RRP £2. 10/10

2015-08-26 11.50.59

  • BARILLA – As soon as I saw the penne pasta and the Arrabbiata sauce I knew these would be perfect together. I’ll be honest, I’m not a fan of ready made sauces but I can understand their appeal for quickness and convenience. However, this tomato and chilli sauce was a lot nicer than I was expecting. I fried some minced beef and onion, drained the fat away, then added this sauce. I also added a touch of basil and mixed it in with the pasta which I cooked following the instructions on the box. It was really tasty! And it packs a punch with the chilli! I was tempted to add some chilli flakes while cooking it, but I’m so glad I didn’t. There was enough in the sauce already. A tasty surprise. The sauce has no added preservatives and was really thick and flavoursome. It is £1.50 and the pasta is £2. 9/10

20150826_114311

  • RYVITA CRISPBREAD – There were 2 delicious packs to try: Sesame, and Cracked Black Pepper. I love crispbreads so was happy to see these. I tried them with lots of different toppings… cream cheese and ham, homemade plum jam and Cheddar cheese, Coronation chicken, tuna salad. All were yummy, but my favourite of the 2 packs was the sesame. The slight nuttiness added something extra and made them even more enjoyable. RRP £2.88. 10/10

2015-08-26 11.52.19

  • BAHLSEN – My son’s face lit up when he saw chocolate biscuits. (OK so did mine but don’t tell anyone). The Pick Up! biscuits were my favourites but Luke didn’t like them. He doesn’t like dark chocolate, and these are made from a thick layer of dark chocolate sandwiched between 2 lovely crispy biscuits. One of these made a scrumptious mid morning snack with a cuppa. The other biscuits were Choco Leibniz White biscuits – a cocoa biscuit with a thick white chocolate coating on one side. These were gorgeous! Sadly they didn’t last long as they were very moreish and were gobbled up in no time. RRP £3.48. 10/10

2015-08-26 11.49.15

  • SCHECKTERS – Organic energy drink. I don’t tend to like energy drinks as I find they taste very artificial and leave an unpleasant aftertaste, but this was an exception. It is the only 100% organic, natural and Informed Sport approved energy drink available in the UK. It contains sparkling spring water, agave nectar and organic pomegranate, elderberry and lemon juice, combined with a blend of raw green coffee beans, green tea, guarana and ginseng. It contains no fat, no salt, no taurine and no artificial ingredients, and has 77 calories per 250ml serving. It had a lovely light fruity taste and really did make me feel refreshed and revitalised. RRP £1.45. 9/10
  • WILLIAMSON TEA – I had the Ginger Grove tea which comes in lovely little nylon teabags. It is a pesticide free black tea from Kenya, infused with ginger. You can see big pieces of ginger combined with the tea and as soon as you open the box the beautiful aroma of ginger hits you. It tastes gorgeous, really warming and perfect for a cold day. Apart from drinking it, I also made a fat-free tea loaf using it. That was delicious. The recipe will be on my next blog post. 10/10
  • LIFE TONICS – I had the Dalandan Orange flavour which was fantastic. It is a blend of coconut water, natural fruit extracts, 5 vitamins and 4 minerals. It has no refined sugar or artificial sweeteners. I found it to be very refreshing and I felt perfectly hydrated after drinking it. I will definitely look out for the other flavours in the range – Elderberry and Juniper, and Coconut and Mint. Coconut products seem to be all the rage at the moment, and with great tasting drinks like this I can see why. RRP £1.49. 10/10

2015-08-26 11.50.11

  • DR. OETKER –  Dr Oetker has recently brought out these simple mug cakes mixes. I feel terrible for saying this but I have been asked for an honest review so forgive me Dr Oetker when I confess to hating these. I really don’t like cake mixes as to me, nothing can ever beat a scrumptious homemade cake. I like to see products which encourage people to bake or cook from scratch, as I believe it is a worthy and important life skill. Some of my most precious moments with my son have been while we have been baking together, and he will be able to pass the knowledge on to his children one day. As I was sent them to try though, I did try each one. You simply add milk and less than 2 minutes later…. DING! There’s a “cake”. I tried all 3 flavours, Chocolate Chip, Rich Chocolate, and Lemon. I didn’t like the texture and I thought they tasted very artificial. Luke tried them too and said the same. We didn’t manage to eat a whole one in any flavour. So sorry Dr Oetker. I know a lot of people have given them rave reviews, but when I spend a lot of time baking, these just didn’t compare. Sometimes on a cold Winter’s night we really fancy a steaming hot sponge with some custard, and maybe for some people these will be perfect for that. I often in the Winter want the same, but it is so easy to make a sponge in the microwave if you are short of time, and as it contains real butter and eggs it tastes sooooo much better. Simply cream together 50g of butter and 50g of caster sugar. Add 1 beaten egg and 2 tbsps of milk. Sift in 50g of self raising flour and fold in until combined. Put 3 tbsps of your favourite jam or syrup in to a microwaveable bowl and pour the cake batter on top. Cover with clingfilm or a microwaveable plate. Heat on full power for 3 to 3.5 minutes and you have a perfect, easy hot sponge pudding which is delicious served with custard. RRP of mug cakes £1.37 each. 1/10 (sorry)!

My overall verdict of Degustabox is 10/10. It gives you so many products worth a lot more than the monthly cost, and it is a perfect way to discover brands and products you might not have heard of before. £12.99 including delivery is an amazing price already, but the very kind people there have given me a code to share with you which brings the price down even further to just £9.99 including delivery for your first box!

If you would like to try it for yourself and treat yourself to a lovely box of surprises, click here and enter the code 70IF1 at checkout for your £3 discount. There is no commitment and you can cancel at any time (although I highly doubt you will want to). I’m sure you’ll love it!!!

I was sent the Degustabox free to review on my blog and all views expressed are my own. I believe in honesty in all things, and reviews are no exception. No offence intended if I’m not keen on a product; it is just more beneficial for the reader to see honest reviews 🙂

2 thoughts on “Degustabox – A Box of Foodie Delights – August 2015 Box review

    • Can’t believe I’d never heard of them before this! I’m so impressed by them. I was so excited not knowing what I was getting in the box. Love them! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

