Chocolate Cream Truffles

2015-12-21 21.58.32

Happy New Year!!!!!! I’m typing this up at the start of January knowing a lot of people will have made a New Year’s Resolution to eat healthier. These truffles are far from healthy so why am I trying to tempt you into making them? Well I know a lot of people who have also made a Resolution to make more gifts themselves to really add that loving personal touch for the lucky recipient. These are perfect for gifts. They are wickedly indulgent and very rich, and they are easy enough for children to make with you.

I made these at Christmas, just like I do every year. This tradition started when I was a teenager. I didn’t come from a rich family. As those of you who know me will know, my Mum died when I was 12 and my Dad had a lifetime of illness which meant he was unable to work. This meant money was extremely tight in our household. I had wanted to give my favourite teachers Christmas presents but there wasn’t enough money for me to buy them anything nice. I decided to try and make some beautiful confectionary instead and found a recipe for chocolate cream truffles. The recipe I found didn’t quite work so I came up with my own. Happily, the teachers were delighted with their little boxes of truffles, and my Dad loved them so much I made them for him every year until his health problems decided he could only eat the blandest of food. I make them now each Christmas to remind me of him, and every time I do I remember how happy he was eating them 🙂

Anyway enough of all that, here is the recipe:

CHOCOLATE CREAM TRUFFLES

115 g plain chocolate, broken into pieces

115 ml double cream

2 tsp vanilla extract

450 g icing sugar, sifted

Chocolate vermicelli

  • Put the chocolate into a heatproof bowl over a pan of barely simmering water, making sure the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water. Leave until the chocolate has melted, stirring occasionally.
  • Add the vanilla and the cream and mix well. Gradually stir in the icing sugar.
  • Mix well until all completely combined. The mixture will be very stiff. Use your hands to knead it all together. The heat from your hands will help to soften the mixture. Press it all together until smooth.
  • Using slightly wet hands, roll portions of the mixture into balls , and then roll around in the chocolate vermicelli until completely covered. Place into sweet cases and leave to set.

I have made these using orange flavoured chocolate as well as just plain and they are equally yummy. You could also use flavoured icing sugars to make many different types of truffle. If you haven’t come across these before, I can highly recommend Sugar and Crumbs who make so many flavours you’ll be spoilt for choice!

Let me know if you try any different flavours. I’d love to hear which are the most delicious. And if your resolutions fall by the wayside, make these to cheer yourself up. Happy New Year everyone ❤

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Cream Truffles

  1. These truffles look beautiful. I think a homemade gift is always the best and you made these for your teachers. See you were a clever, thoughtful, enterprising young lady, even whilst you were at school. Your recipe looks yummy and I have some flavoured icing sugar, these will make perfect Valentines (don’t cringe, I bet the shops are full of cards and hearts already!) treat. Happy New Year sweetie. Sammie xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe Valentine’s Day is only round the corner. I’ve seen Easter eggs in supermarkets already so planning for Valentine’s now is acceptable lol. Thank you for your lovely comment. Happy New Year to you too lovely xxxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

