Crafty Creatives May Subscription Box…. Hama Time!

2016-05-26 14.10.48

I am a massive fan of subscription boxes. I find every aspect of them exciting: the email saying they have been dispatched, the anticipation waiting for them to arrive, wondering what could be inside this time, and then the wonderful surprise when you open them and can finally reveal what treats you have.

Crafty Creatives is the perfect subscription box for craft lovers of all abilities and skill levels. You can find out more about them in last month’s review HERE or click on their name at the start of this sentence to go directly to their website.

I was very excited when I opened the May box to discover a kit to make coasters using Hama beads. I have seen these beads in toy shops and Hobbycraft but had never used them before. My son had never wanted them as all the kits for children looked quite childish and he just didn’t want to make those. Neither of us had realised that Hama beads actually come in 3 sizes: maxi beads are 10mm in size and recommended for pre-school children, midi beads are the best sellers at 5mm in size and suitable for children and adults, and mini beads are a tiny 2.5mm in size and best for very detailed intricate designs.

2016-05-26 14.03.12

2016-05-26 14.02.22

This Crafty Creatives kit came with 3,500 midi beads of various colours, 3 pegboards, instructions, ironing paper and 14 designs for you to try. I copied one of the designs (the round one in the picture at the start of this post) but changed the colours used, and then did a couple of my own designs too. Unfortunately for me, my son saw them and saw how easy they were to make and was desperate to try them for himself. That was the last I saw of the beads. He sat at the table making one design after another and absolutely loved them. I’m all for encouraging creativity in children so, as sad as I was that my Hama fun was over, I was thrilled to see him so engaged in making things with them. Here are a few of his designs…

2016-05-26 14.11.40

I’ve had to buy more beads for him but I will be making sure I get to use them too. In case you don’t know what they are, they are small cylindrical beads which you position on a pegboard, and when you are happy with the design you have made, you lay a sheet of ironing paper on top and gently iron for a few seconds. This causes the beads to melt slightly and fuse together, so you can remove the design from the pegboard and you are left with one complete product. If you iron them too much, as I did in the bottom right one in the above picture, the beads melt slightly too much. Oops! They still look good though.

The aim of Crafty Creatives is to help you discover new crafts you might not have tried before, without having to spend lots of money buying all the equipment. This is a craft I will definitely be continuing with. Everyone used to say colouring in was just for children, but now adults have discovered its therapeutic calming effects and there is a huge craze for adult colouring books. I honestly think Hama bead craft is another such activity. I felt so relaxed making my designs, and so peaceful in myself. I would highly recommend them to everyone, young and old. I am going to buy some big pegboards so I can make some beautiful pictures using them, as well as small designs. When I was copying the design for the circle board, it reminded me so much of another craft I love. I adore cross stitch and have some stunning charts to use for that. Each little symbol square on a cross stitch chart represents a colour, and it dawned on me that it would be so easy to use such a chart and copy the design using beads on pegboards. Now, if Hama can make kits like cross stitch kits but the Hama bead version with all beads included and a beautiful chart to work from, I will be one even happier crafter!!!

I can’t wait to see what June’s Crafty Creatives box will contain! Whatever it will be, I know it will be a new exciting crafty adventure.

DISCLAIMER: I pay for my Crafty Creatives subscription, and this review is my honest opinion of it. I receive no endorsement of any kind for writing these reviews. I just like to share wonderful discoveries with you all 🙂

3 thoughts on “Crafty Creatives May Subscription Box…. Hama Time!

  1. Hi Corrina
    Thank you so much for this glowing review of Hama Beads. My name is Nicola and I designed the craft boxes for Crafty Creatives so I’m really glad to hear you liked them. If you ever want to stock up your supply of Hama Beads, everything is on our website – http://www.hamabeads.com – everything is sent Royal Mail Tracked24 and we deliver for free on all UK orders over £35 🙂
    Many thanks
    Nicola
    Marketing Manager at hamabeads.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Nicola,
      The boxes you designed were fab! So much fun for any age. We’ll be making Thank You gifts for my son’s teachers using Hama beads so I’ll be ordering plenty soon. I need to do a bit of experimenting first to see if my idea will work 🙂
      Thanks again!
      Corrina xxx

      Like

  2. Pingback: A Triveting Crafty Creatives August Box | Confarreo

Leave a Reply

