Carrot Flapjack Hearts Recipe…. Little Hearts of Happiness

2017-03-03-13-59-24

My previous blog post was one in which I made a scrumptious cinnamon sauce and a cream cheese icing, and I now make sure my bottles are permanently full of these as they are so so delicious. I was thinking about other bakes I could make that they would complement and thought they would be amazing drizzled over a carrot cake. When I checked my cupboards though I didn’t quite have enough of the ingredients I would need, and I didn’t fancy a trip to the shops. I did however have plenty of oats, so decided to have a go at making carrot flapjacks that would hopefully give me the carrot cake fix I was craving. Well They most certainly did! They taste just like chewy carrot cake! I posted a photo of them on Twitter and a lovely lady described them as “little hearts of happiness”. I loved that description so much I decided to use it in the title 🙂

As I mentioned in THIS SHORTBREAD RECIPE recently, I received a beautiful Heart Mini Bakes pan from The Little Cook Shop and I decided it would be perfect for these flapjacks. I’ll be honest, I used my own recipe for these and guessed how much of each ingredient to use as I went along, so I was over the moon when I had mixed it all together to find it was the exact amount needed for the pan! That was such a stroke of luck. Although if I’d known how popular they would be in my house I would have doubled the amounts and made 2 batches! I am making more tomorrow and that is what I shall be doing this time! My Other Half ate 2 as soon as he walked through the door from work, then another 2 not long later. In his words, “these are ridiculously moreish”. That made my day. I frequently get accused of being a “feeder”, and I know I’m guilty of that. I get so much pleasure from cooking or baking something and seeing it being greatly enjoyed. The batch of 12 was polished off within a few hours. Good result! They are chewy rather than crunchy as that is how I prefer flapjacks. If you prefer crunchy, use 1 tbsp less honey and bake a few minutes longer.

I was thinking these would be perfect for Easter too. You know how you leave a mince pie out for Santa, a tooth for the Tooth Fairy…. well I can guarantee the Easter Bunny would love to find a couple of these left out for him when he visits your home! He doesn’t want a plain old carrot as he knows you leave them out for Rudolph. He wants something different that tells him you love him. What better than a carrot flapjack heart? Trust me, he’ll thank you for it!


You could use any pan for these but the Heart Mini Bakes pan is just so perfect. You will find you’ll use it for so many bakes so it is well worth buying. It is available HERE and if you enter the code CONFARREO10 at the checkout you will receive a 10% discount! You can use that code across the whole site, not just on that pan, so it is worth having a look at what else you might like. Chocolate moulds, bakeware, cookware, bundt pans, cook books…. the list goes on.

I topped half of mine with the cinnamon sauce and cream cheese icing I had made previously, and half with just the cream cheese icing. You don’t need to top them with anything but they do make them extra special. here is the recipe:

CARROT FLAPJACK HEARTS

75g unsalted butter, plus a bit extra for greasing

60g light brown soft sugar

3 tbsp runny honey

Half tsp mixed spice

100g carrots (weight after being peeled). peeled and finely grated

25g seedless raisins

25g chopped walnuts

150g porridge/rolled oats

  • Preheat the oven to 180C or 160C fan. Melt the little extra bit of butter and use a pastry brush to grease the heart cavities of the pan.
  • Place the butter, sugar, honey and mixed spice into a medium sized saucepan and heat until the butter and sugar have melted, stirring occasionally.
  • Remove from the heat and add the carrots, raisins, and walnuts and mix well.
  • Add the oats and mix until completely combined and the ingredients are distributed fairly throughout.
  • Divide the mixture between the 12 heart cavities and press down firmly until level. I found it easier to use my (clean!) fingers for this part.
  • 2017-03-03-12-56-46
  • Place the pan on to a baking sheet/tray and bake in the centre of the oven for 20-25 minutes until lightly golden. They should still feel a bit soft, and will have shrunk away from the sides slightly.
  • Leave in the pan for 5 minutes, then remove gently and place on to a wire cooling rack to cool.

2017-03-03-13-18-57

You can either eat them as they are, or to make them extra special make the toppings from THIS RECIPE and drizzle them over the flapjacks. If you can only make one topping, make it the cream cheese icing. It goes so perfectly with these. Let me know what you top yours with. Happy Baking!

2017-03-03-14-10-50

DISCLAIMER: I received the pan for free from The Little Cook Shop in exchange for recipes/review. They very kindly provided a discount code for my readers. I receive no commission from the use of the discount code and receive no compensation from the Little Cook Shop (apart from getting to keep the pan). All views and opinions are my own and I believe in honesty in all my posts. I only review products I absolutely love for companies who I feel offer amazing service, so you can trust any recommendations I make 🙂

8 thoughts on “Carrot Flapjack Hearts Recipe…. Little Hearts of Happiness

  1. Yummy, scrummy inmy tummy. I absolutely love carrot cake, so I shall definitely be making these. Plus they don’t contain orange zest or juice, which I am allergic too. Brilliant for making To out in packed lunch or Summer picnics. Pinned ready to make. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sammie. They are extra scrummy with the sauce or icing (or both hehe). Luke’s not a fan of orangey flavours either so these are perfect for him too. I hope you like them 🙂 xxx

      Like

  2. Pingback: Peach Schnapps and Raspberry No Bake Cheesecake Hearts | Confarreo

Leave a Reply

