The Pong Cheese Club… Artisan Cheese Subscription Box!

As you all know, I love subscription boxes. You know when you sign up to one what type of thing you will receive in your box, but you never know exactly what the products will be. As a lover of surprises, this appeals to me.

The lovely people at Pong Cheese contacted me asking if I would like to try their brand new artisan cheese box. I do love cheese so jumped at the chance! I can honestly say I was massively impressed by it all too.

Pong Cheese Club really puts the customer/recipient first. Most people like at least one kind of cheese, but some people really don’t like some types of cheese too. I have tried many times to like blue cheeses but I just don’t and never will. Pong Cheese lets you tell them your preferences, such as no blue cheese (which is what I said), no goat’s cheese, vegetarian cheese only… they really do cater the box to each individual customer. I love this detail. It guarantees you will only receive cheeses that you will enjoy.

Boxes are delivered by courier on Thursdays, making sure your fridge is well-stocked for the weekend ahead. Delivery is free and the cheeses are brilliantly packed in a lovely box with ice packs to ensure they are fresh and in prime condition. The ice packs in mine were still frozen solid so the cheese was lovely and cold. Pong Cheese understands that you will be excited to receive your first box quickly, so it is delivered on the Thursday after you place your order. Subsequent boxes are then delivered on the Thursday after that date in the next month.

You can choose whether you want to receive a box monthly, bi-monthly, or quarterly and you can pause or cancel your subscription at any time. There are 2 options available. You can receive the regular box, which contains expertly selected seasonal cheeses from artisan producers. This is £22 per month including free courier delivery. The box I received was an example of this. Or you can choose to go Premium for £29 per month including delivery, and this option means you will receive at least one extra special cheese in addition to the others. As this is a brand new club though, Pong Cheese are very generously offering a 50% discount on your first box! More about that at the end.

So what did I receive in my box? I had Oakwood Smoked Farmhouse Cheddar, Ford Farm West Country Farmhouse Cheddar, Caws Cenarth Brie, and Ford Farm Goat’s Cheese. The Goat’s cheese was delicious with a rocket, spinach and beetroot salad. It had a lovely smooth, creamy taste compared to the bitterness of the rocket leaves.

My 10 year old son absolutely loves cheese, but he likes extra mature Cheddar. The stronger tasting, the better. He finds supermarket cheeses just too bland for his taste. (This is the only food item he has mature tastes in, by the way)! When I opened the Ford Farm Farmhouse Cheddar, he was at my side in an instant. This cheese (like the goat’s cheese) was surrounded by a wax covering, which my son thought was brilliant. He said it showed it was quality. I didn’t get chance to use much of this one in recipes, as he loved it cut into wedges and eaten on it’s own. This was my favourite too. Tangy but also creamy tasting. Sharp but also smooth. It was a taste sensation like no other. The Oakwood Smoked Farmhouse Cheddar was also enjoyed largely on it’s own, and on thick crusty bread with ham. Another delicious cheese, not as sharp as the Ford Farm but still packed with flavour.

At the same time as receiving the cheeses, I had also received some bread crackers to try. A perfectly timed coincidence! I decided to bake the Brie to use as a cheesy dip for the crackers. I added a dollop of caramelised onion chutney which a friend had made, and it was heavenly! Gooey and silky and just delicious.

Pong Cheese goes all out to make sure you enjoy the cheeses at their best, so they include a very informative guide on how to store and eat them. There’s a handy tip about which drinks go best with the different types of cheese. I learnt a lot from this guide. Did you know cheese should be served at room temperature for optimum flavour? I didn’t! I’ve always eaten it straight from the fridge! Not any more though. It really does make a difference.

 

This subscription box is perfect for any cheese lover, and would make a lovely gift. As I said before, the wonderful people at Pong Cheese are offering your first box for half price at the moment! To take advantage of their offer just click HERE to go to the website, make your preferences and enter code CLUB50 at the checkout. At just £11 after the discount, and free delivery, it really is a fantastic bargain! Definitely well worth trying.

 

DISCLAIMER: I received a sample box in exchange for an honest review. This in no way effects my opinions on it. My blog is based on honesty… I only recommend things I really genuinely like and would recommend. 

Leave a Reply

